Right to live in more than 30 countries

Latvia is part of the EU for 10 years already. Latvian dual citizenship allows you to live in 32 countries of EU and EFTA. 

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Netherlands

  • Poland

  • Portugal


  • Romania

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • United Kingdom

  • Norway

  • Switzerland

  • Iceland

  • Lichtenshtein


​Having Latvian citizenship can give the citizen a possibility to reside, find a job, and do business in Europe much easier. It also gives a possibility to live and work freely anywhere in Europe – be it at a young age or later in life.


Because only EU citizens have the right to live in Europe without restriction, the easiest path to living in EU is to claim EU citizenship through descent, in this case Latvian citizenship.


Latvian citizenship is under the European Union law, and thus possess the rights of any EU citizens like having the right to vote in elections for the European Parliament. It comes with the benefit of safety: if a non-EU country where there is no Latvian embassy, Latvian citizens have the right to get consular protection from the embassy of any other EU country present in that country.

Benefits of Latvian citizenship:

Get additional information and apply for Latvian citizenship

Tell us when your Latvian ancestors have left or ask any questions that you might have.